I like owls.

I like them on my T-shirts, on my necklaces, pillows, notebooks, in my doodles and in my dreams. They’re probably what I would be if I’d been created as a bird, so, you know, I feel some sort of empathy with them.

Which is why, when they came to my hometown, I cried a cry of utter delight and clambered to hold one all by myself…

Sorry Potter, this one’s mine.

There were quite a few to choose from, all of which from a wonderful local charity called Many Hoots- a sanctuary, based in Kent, who look after and really care for injured and abandoned owls.

This barn owl, little under a year old was very tame indeed. She was fearless, curious and softer than anything I have ever touched in my life. As you can imagine, I was beaming for the rest of the day.

It also led to me creating a small little poem. About owls. Obviously.

Owl & I

Of a kind

our dark eyes dart,

milk spines align.

And from a distance,

one not unkind,

we watch, forlorn,

the turning tide.

3 thoughts on “Monday musings: Owl & I

Leave a Reply

