That is quite the understatement. I love afternoon tea so, very, much.

I think it’s fair to say that foodie things are my real passion in life. I love how food is created, how food is presented, and how food tastes. I like pretty things, and the epitome of pretty food to me {patisseries aside} is the quintessential afternoon tea.

It’s very british, and it’s one of my most favourite things to engage in.

So, when I went to have Afternoon tea at The Dining Club, a local {and in my oppinion the best local} restaurant, on this beautiful September day, it was always going to be good.

The chef at The Dining club is a genius; this wasn’t finger sandwiches, typical scones & a slice of victoria sponge. No, no…this was…

Heaven.

Corny? Yes. But truthful? Absolutely.

For me, the vegetarian, there was a sublime celariac velouté with truffle oil. It was thick and creamy and utterly delicious.

Then there was the salad with beautiful parmesan and a malty reduced balsamic dressing.

There was goats cheese inside cucumber, with a lovely pesto verde on homemade bread.

And then there was a spiced quail’s egg, with homemade flat bread and sweet chilli dressing. It was all so lovely and pretty. Needless to say, it whet my appetite for the scone course…

And what a course that was…

As you can imagine, by this point, I was pretty happy, pretty darn impressed, and pretty, um, full.

But then the tiers of desserts came out.

Yeah.

Brandy jelly, mouselline cream and caramelized cherries- something I’d never had before, and adored. They were so juicy and soft inside the thick, crisp caramel coating.

And then…

There was the maple & pecan tartlet, and pink peppercorn choux with a flavoured creme patissiere inside.

The real startlett of the show however was this beauty…

An earl grey panna cotta. It was perfection itself, and I am going to do my very best to replicate something similar, because this is going to have to be part of my life from now on. It was just wonderful.

Anyway, so that was my day. I’m aware that I started this blog to note the progress of my dissetation, and so far I’ve kind of neglected that, so here’s the update: it’s going okay. I have the skeleton plans of what I’m going to do, but I’ve been kind of quiet about it here because my family have zero interest in poetry and so it’s not been of interest to them <_<

I’ll go into more details once I’m happy with it, I promise!

Anyway, have some cake, and have a nice day!

One thought on “This girl likes Afternoon tea.

Leave a Reply

