Is it too early to be having a mid-life crisis?

I think I had some sort of a sad epiphany today. I say sad because it wasn’t a moment of illuminating enlightenment, it was just a kind of understanding.

You see, I’m planning on dabbling in chocolate truffle making next week, and I’ve spent my whole afternoon- that’s six hours– deciding what flavour combinations and decorations I want to try.

And six hours wasn’t long enough for me to come up with conclusive answers.

I think it’s pretty obvious to anyone who knows me that…well…

But more than that, I care about it; everything from the creation, to the taste, to the presentation of beautiful food fascinates me.

And after having spent my afternoon in such a way it’s become apparent to me that this is what I want to do with my life. I want to work with food.

Unfortunately I’m already in my final year of a retrospectively useless degree which, when it’s over, offers no prospects in a food area.

And of course, I could go straight from this course into a culinary one- but that would leave me not only in the situation of having spent thousands of pounds on classes and accomodation for an unused degree, but who knows if I’d even be any good at it. And have you seen the prices for culinary institutes? Plus I’m old. I’ve left it too late.

I’ve made the wrong choices, and now I’m going to be stuck with it and reduced to being on the other side of the dining table, always the diner and never the cook. And that makes me really sad. Because yes, it can be a hobby, but that’s not really what I want.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Food.

  1. No, Veronique, you might have done exactly the RIGHT thing. One of my god-daughters has a 2:1 in English, then worked in the kitchens of Clarridges – Gordon Ramsey – while doing a cookery course, all of which was outrageously hard work. Then she began to do other work for him which led to her tasting his dishes, going home and replicating them in order to have a reproducible recipe (and happy neighbours) and contributing copy for his articles. Now she writes food and restaurant revies for the UAE Daily National. I’ll tell you more when I see you.

Leave a Reply

