What is medovik?

Well, in a word; heaven.

For any of you who happened to trawl through my rather heavy episodic series of Ten days in Prague, which went over my summer holiday in, you guessed it, Prague {and can be found right here on my blog}, you’ll know that one of the many delightful things I sampled there was this eastern treat.

Medovik is a layered honey cake, popular and easily found throughout the Czech Republic and Russia. It doesn’t have a heavy taste of honey {so honey haters, you’re fine!} but it does have the wonderful, deep, moreish flavour of treacley, golden syrupy sticky goodness.

I fell in love with it. The last slice I had, I ate on the plane as I journeyed on home to England where the word “Medovik” was met with a puzzled expression and a quick google search. I suffered through withdrawel symptons. I raved to my friends about how I longed for it. I cried.

So, today I decided to try and actually make it.

Well, if we’re being accurate, I actually decided to make it last week- I’m an overthinker and I plan everything down to the teeny weeny details.This cake needs that kind of planning beforehand- it isn’t ‘difficult’ to make, but it requires a lot of time, effort and precision. Especially when you decide to make it in miniature, like I did. Because everything tastes better when it’s delicately mini. Obviously.

I looked over the interwebs long and hard to find a recipe which I felt most confident in following, and whilst doing so, discovered that there are actually two equally loved and accepted fillings for this cake. One is a sour creme & sugar mixture, the other is a caramel & butter/creme fraiche base. I opted for the caramel one because it’s more solid and I didn’t want the cake to be too soft. Plus who doesn’t love sweet caramel on a cold November eve?

Now, I say that Medovik is a cake. But the layers are made up of a plain flour base which eventually becomes a dough. So really, it’s kind of a biscuit. When I pulled them out of the oven to taste their texture, they reminded me of a boudoir biscuit-slash-scone.

Because the mixture was quite sticky, they were fatter than I’d anticipated, and so I sliced each circlet in half.

After the biscuits had been baked, it was a case of layering them with the delicious caramel cream mixture, and adding the traditional crushed biscuit and walnuts to garnish. I’ve been keenly experimenting with chocolate tempering recently, so last night I dabbled in making some additional chocolate decore; creme brulée & honey white cocoa stars for the top, and dark chocolate shards to crown the base.

So! Six layered medovik, all done 😀

When I make these again, I’m thinking some spun sugar cages or chocolate cages would go wonderfully over the accompanying homemade ice cream. Because homemade ice cream is exactly what this cake needs- which flavour? That question remains.

Vanilla is a little dull. Honey, a little unispired. Dulce de leche? I like the idea of. Café latte? Well that I would adore, but it might take away from the honeycake’s warm, but not particularly strong flavour. Decisions, decisions- I need to ponder over it some more!

Tomorrow I’m playing with marzipan again, this time I hope the end product will look a little more ladylike and elegant. My last batch of marzipan candies were very addictive and {sorry to toot my own horn, but as I’ve stressed repeatedly, I adore marzipan} lovely to eat, but they were rather bulky looking things which were unquestionably homemade.

So, here’s to what will hopefully be a productive day in the kitchen. Even though I should be spending that time working. Writing. And generally not messing around with chocolate and crushed pistachios. Oh well.

Leave a Reply

