Let’s start with the most recent news; yes. Yes, as you can see, after two previous failures in the kitchen, I finally managed to get choux right.

It was really a test run, so I didn’t have many filling options- I just wanted to make a basic choux! So when they puffed up into glorious golden spheres, I filled them with rasperry jam and ate them warm.

I need to invest in another piping set {Mine broke, unsuprisingly as it was 99p} and then when I give choux a go in the near future, I’ll try to create some lovely coffee and chocolate eclairs/profiteroles.

Now, in my last post I was super excited about my parents impending visit, and now it’s over, I’m quite sad really. It was lovely to see them both, but now I miss them even more and am looking more forward to going home at Christmas than ever.

We went to a really nice restaurant about 12 miles outside of Nottingham, in Gunthorpe, called Tom Brown’s brasserie. It was sleek, with a stylish interior, roaring fires, friendly staff, and the food…oh the food. So, darn, pretty.

It was a lovely meal throughout- but my focus is always on the last course! The highlight of the evening is normally the dessert for me.

And this one didn’t dissapoint- it wasn’t huge, but, it sure was delicious! A cinnamon and raisin cake, moist, with pistachio crumbs {which I can’t figure out how they were created, infuriangly!} and bourbon ice cream with drizzles of honey.

My dad also ordered the petite fours {one of the many reasons I love him} and they were really something special. Inside the chocolate dome there was a sweet ganache, and the white cube was white chocolate ganache. Mmmm. The macaron was one of the best I’ve had for its crisp bite, and the pate de fruit didn’t have a strong flavour, but an enjoyable texture.

I was quite nervous leading up to the meal because I wanted to share my news with them- that after university, I want to go down a cooking route. They took it really well, and were incredibly supportive; I feel like it’s really something within my grasp now, something I can throw myself into when I’ve finished my degree.

Other food-related bonuses of the night included some welsh cakes (like a dense, pancake/scone with cinnamon and sultanas) and a bara birth (a loaf/cake with tea soaked raisins, cinamon, and literally translates to ‘speckled bread’), the latter generously sent along by my parents friends, who’d they been staying with in Wales.

Also, as my parents had been with my brother beforehand, I received a whole array of unusual asian goodies from Newcastle’s chinatown; which I’ve steadily been devouring happily.

So all in all, an excellent visit!

2 thoughts on “Third time’s the charm.

  1. Choux pastry is often taken for granted as an ‘easy’ pastry to make but that’s far from the truth! I’ve had my fair share of deflated choux buns in the past so nowadays I make doubly sure that they’re fully baked through and let them have plenty of time to get rid of the internal steam.

    By the way, are you French by any chance? I’m asking purely because you’ve got a french name. 🙂

    1. Yes! They were certainly more of a challenge than I had anticipated. Hopefully now that I know where I went wrong, next time the first batch will be successful ^^’

      & I’m half french yes! Although I was raised in England, I have family in France and such 🙂

Leave a Reply

