light vs dark

If you temporarily ignore the above image of beautiful, practically fat free feather cake and its sinful partner, decadent {and gluten free} chocolate & almond torte, I would like to share a few words of wisdom.

Always.

Back up.

Your work.

“Ohohoho, Véro! But of course, I do that already!”

Do you really? That’s nice. I didn’t. And yesterday I lost it all.

This is the story of how I lost assignments, poems & peices of my dissertation.

Welcome.

So basically, yesterday was one of the worst days of my life in recent history. Not that I’ve had many, I’m pretty blessed, so I’ve never needed to pen a list of “Bad stuff in life”. Yesterday deserves a list, a whole list all to itself.

My laptop is not particularly reliable, therefore I mostly work straight onto my supposedly reliable USB stick. I’m not great with techostuff, the USB died, everything on died too.

Dissssserrrrttaaaatiooooonnnn.

Fortunately, I had {admittedly outdated} backups of various pieces, however there were some assignments I lost completey, as well as poems, peices of fiction and planwork. Oh well.

And so, yesterday I spent all day frantically trying to re-do lost work. And when I say all day, for once I’m not exagerrating; it took forever.

I worked up early this morning, and since I couldn’t stress bake, I went back to work, and I’m so pleased it’s all over. I haven’t managed to re-do everything, I mean some of that work is never coming back as they’re impossible to recreate, but I’ve managed to complete the most important pieces. Phew.

So. Lesson learned.

Nofeather cake 1w! Onto baking!

First up is this beauty. Virtually fat free, it was the creation of my experimenting in ze kitchen. I recently bought myself an electric handwhisk {whom I have affectionately named ‘My darling Earnesto’} and this has opened up soooo many new ventures in the culinary world. It was so, so, very light and melted on my tongue like cottonfloss- a very similar texture to pandoro. So I named it feathercake, because it was incredibly featherly indeed.

In direct contrast, I also created this beast; gluten free, incredibly rich, and chocolate almond torte 3super sinful chocolate & almond torte. It’s very similar to a whole array of things; fallen soufflé cake, chocolate nemesis, chocolate valentino, and essentially is a baked chocolate mousse. It is rich. Like moneybags rich. But at the same time, so incredibly light it’s like velvet on your tongue. Yum.

scone 2

I also baked my first ever batch of espresso scones, which were very tender and had a lovely sweet and moreish taste. They were also incredibly quick to make- certainly less stressful than I’d imagined!

choux 1

And finally, I made up a batch of choux, just to try out my new piping kit {which worked wonderfully} and made these pretty swirls.

So! That’s what I’ve been up too as of late. I’ll be making a banana flan patissier, as well as some marzipan truffles later this week for friends on Friday, and I can’t wait to get back into the kitchen 🙂

Have a good week!

Leave a Reply

