La rock textures of chocolate.

After a year of wistful dreaming and drawn out patience; last night I finally, finally, visited La Rock.

And it was incredible.

The problem with anticipation is that sometimes, by building up something in your mind, the reality can be a huge let down. But I am pleased to say that regardless of how high my expectations were {and they were high, believe me}, La Rock still managed to better them.

I wipe a tiny tear of joy from my eye.

Last year my father, being the wonderful father he is, wanted to encourage me as much as possible in regards to my degree. If I got a first {and, I suspect, even if I hadn’t} I could choose a restaurant to dine at in celebration!

I looked at Sat Bains. I looked at La Rock. I chose La Rock. I’m glad I chose La Rock.

I’ll limit the words now, and let the photos do the talking.

1 La rock, red pepper velouteThe meal began with a little amuse bouche; red pepper and sweet potato, with truffle oil and a celery leaf, it was deep and rich and delicious.

La rock 9 bread

Their bread, onion farmloaves, were adorable! Warm, freshly baked, light and fluffy; they were beyond nice.

And now onto the starters.

3 La Rock monkfish cheeks, vermouth, olives, squidMy mother’s monkfish cheeks.

4  Wood pigeon, hickory, endive, pinenuts, parmesan, grapefruitsMy father’s woodpigeon.

5 La rock, cheddar creme brule, mini cheese toastie, red onion jamMy cheddar crème brulée, red onion jam, apple purée & mini toastie.

And the mains…

La rock 7 deconstructed wellington, beef, chicken livers, madeira creamDeconstructed beef wellington. Beautiful.

La rock 8 lamb three waysLamb three ways.

6 La rock, goat's cheese, parmesan crisp, gnocci, red peppers, basil, rocketGnocchi, red peppers & goat’s cheese.

la rock 10 vegetablesAssiette of vegetables. And those potato dauphinnoise were a-mazing. The best I’ve ever eaten. Seriously.

And hon he hon; le desserts.

Are you sitting down? No?

Sit down, and then proceed.

La rock 11, coconut snow, choc soil, peanut and chocolate pave, cream, pineapple, raspberries

Chocolate on a peanut base, coconut snow, pineapple coulis, chocolate soil, raspberries and about a thousand other components rendering it incredible.

la rock10 eton mess

Eton mess. Cream, meringues, marshmallows, strawberry lemonade, strawberry tuilles.

la rock 10, blackcurrent parfait, shortbread, whit choc cream, soup, crisp

Blackcurrent parfait, white chocolate cream, shortbread, soup.

And we finished off the meal with lattes and petit fours! Fudge, chocolate honeycomb and peanut & crisped puff clusters with a kick of chili and white chocolate.

So yes. A wonderful evening from start to finish, with every course, every dish, and every component of every dish executed perfectly. My parents and I agreed that it would be a meal to remember for years and years to come.

So if in Nottingham, I would highly recommend you seek La Rock out, and if you’re not? It is well worth making a journey for. Exemplary cuisine and a wonderful dining experience.

La Rock

4 Bridge St 
Sandiacre,
Nottinghamshire
NG10 5QT

http://www.larockrestaurant.co.uk/

3 thoughts on “Let’s talk about La Rock.

Leave a Reply

