vero3

I know, it’s been a while and you missed me, didn’t you? No, no, please, there’s no shame in it. I would miss me too if I were you.

So, for the first time, possibly ever, life has been super busy and I haven’t had the time to keep up my leetle blog here. Seriously. When I’m not in college or commuting, there is a high chance that I’m sleeping.

If it sounds like I’m complaining, I hasten to add that THIS IS AWESOME.

I’m busy, guys. Busy doing something I love, and it’s blissful.

vero1

So, I just returned from Christmas in Malta. And by just returned, I mean, I returned yesterday, slept for eleven hours, and am now human enough to form coherent sentences.

owl1

I essentially spent the week befriending local animals and frolicking in the dramatic seascape. And reading. And drinking cocktails. Twas idyllic.

IMG_2798

Or at least, it was idyllic until I fully re-read Memoirs of a Geisha. It’s one of my favourite books- but I ALWAYS forget how it leaves you feeling like your heart has been ripped out and all the flames of hope have been truly stamped on and extinguished.

Now I just need to re-read Song of Achilles {another favourite if not the favourite} and then I will be in a full state of desolate misery just in time for the new year! Wonderful.

IMG_2702So, shall we talk about Westminster? I think we should.

It’s been a busy, but excellent, three months so far. Which means three months to go. I can’t express how sad I am about this- half way through already. No. No no. No. It’s passing terrifyingly quickly and when it’s over I foresee many tears.

SAM_4811

Our weeks are well balanced; Monday is bread day, Tuesday is pastry kitchen, Wednesday is centrepiece work- so chocolate/sugar/isomalt/fondant/pastillage etc, and Thursday is a mesh of research and creativity.

boxFriday is a free day, but I tend to spend it in the chocolate lab because the chocolate lab is a glorious place where magic happens.

SAM_4937

Anyway, so in short: je suis tres content. I love everyone on my course, I love my actual course, and I love how the course is being taught. Roll on, 2014.

Leave a Reply

